Contact your local representative View our Policies & Consulations

Economy Minister Paul Frew has announced six new appointments to the board of the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI).

Mr Andrew Cooke, Dr Patricia Hart, Ms Catherine Irwin MBE, Mr Simon McDowell, Ms Siobhán Rooney and Mr Gerry Strong have been appointed to serve for three years with effect from 1 May 2021.

Commenting on the appointments, the Minister said: “The six new members bring with them an array of skills and experience to best complement those of existing Board members. This, I believe, will make for a strong board and enhance HSENI’s overall effectiveness and success. I wish the new members well in their appointments. I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the contributions and commitment of current Chairperson Derek Martin and existing board members.”

The appointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland. More information is available at